Sunday School Recital, and Baby Uncle Wayne

This dream is from two nights ago, so the details are starting to fade a bit.

 

We were at my old church, where I grew up.  It was about time for a Sunday School recital, and I was the teacher.  I had a class of really little ones, and they had been practicing a dance to do.  The time for our turn came, and the little ones (about 2-4 years old) went up on the stage.  They danced around, and looked a bit unorganized and cute, but they did their best, and I was proud of them.  In the audience, was the mom of 2 of the kids.  She was really mad because their performance wasn’t amazing.  She was saying awful mean things about them, and I was so angry that I said “If she ever says that again, I’m going to punch her in the face”. Yeesh.
So, everything was said and done, and we went out to the parking lot to get ready to go.  My Grammie Upton was standing in the parking lot.  She looked happy, but I knew that she wasn’t completely herself.  Even though I was a grown up, she saw me as a little girl. So, I spun around to show her my dress, did a little dance, and acted like a little girl.  Then I went over to hug her.  She didn’t want to let go, so I hugged her for a long time.  Then she said in my ear “I miss my baby brother Wayne”, and I said “You love him, don’t you?” and she said “Yes.  But, don’t you want one too?”  I kind of knew she meant, don’t I want another baby of my own, and I thought about it and said “Yes.. sometimes I do”.  Then it was time to go.  We were the only ones left in the lot, with my mom in the car waiting.  She said “I’m not taking her home, a nurse or someone will have to come get her”.  I knew that my mom had been hurt so much, and that those feelings were coming from a place of pain, but I couldn’t abandon my grandmother either, so I said “Then, I will take her home.”  My mom said, no no, we can take her, so I piled her in the car and off we went.

Children_dancing[1]

Leave a Reply

