Assertiveness for Earth Angels~ Doreen Virture

Today, I want to do something a little different. Recently I read the book Assertiveness for Earth Angels, by Doreen Virtue, and I would love to share my review with you!  Being a sensitive person like myself, this book has really touched me.

Have you ever picked up a book, began reading, and with each sentence consumed had that overwhelming, tingly feeling, that someone or something had sent that book in your direction? With Doreen Virtue’s Assertiveness for Earth Angels, that is exactly how I felt. Initially I chose to read this book, simply because I love angels. I had no idea that I would identify so deeply as being an Earth Angel myself.  If you think you couldn’t possibly be an Earth Angel, you may want to push those thoughts aside, open your heart, and give it a read anyway.  You never know, right?

 
The book is separated into five sections: Assertiveness Basics, Developing Assertiveness in Relationships, Being Assertive Out in the World, and Life Tools and Guidance for Earth Angels.  As I started reading, I found myself nodding in agreement with each page. Yes, I avoid conflict, yes I am a people pleaser and yes I’m scared as heck not to be.  Instead of just pointing out the attributes of Earth Angels, Virtue gives wonderful and accurate steps to learn to be more assertive, and take your happiness into your own hands.  Instead of walking on eggshells, and making sure others are happy in order to feel happiness yourself, you can in fact learn to be independently happy!  Simple issues I didn’t realize I had were brought to light, and cleared.  I find myself checking my emotions and consciously being aware that my happiness does not depend on the happiness of my family members, friends, or co-workers; If they are upset or stressed, guess what? I can still be happy! I don’t need to cajole them into a jolly mood to give myself permission to smile. 
 
The amount of freedom I feel, just from reading this brilliant and necessary compilation, is inexpressible. It’s hard to explain how amazing it feels to say thank you one time, and let that be enough.  (Instead of spewing gregarious thank yous at the baby sitter who filled in when our regular care-taker was ill, making both of us extremely uncomfortable.  I can breathe again! 
 
I can’t tell you how much I recommend this book to you. If you are thinking of reading it, stop thinking and just read it. Your self will think you.
 
*FTC Disclosure: I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgement of the product.
Image
Leave a Reply

